120th AW Quarterly Awards presented

  • Published
  • By Senior Master Sgt. Eric Peterson
  • 120th Airlift Wing Public Affairs Office
120th Airlift Wing personnel identified as top performers for the third quarter of fiscal year 2016 were presented with awards during the regularly scheduled drill August 13 here.

The quarterly awards were announced during a commander's call held in the Larsen Room of the Wing Headquarters Building. The room was filled to capacity leaving many Airmen with standing room only. Airmen unable to attend the award presentation viewed a live broadcast of the event from their office shown over the wing closed circuit television system.

120th AW Commander Col. Lee Smith and the 120th AW Command Chief, Chief Master Sgt. Steven Lynch, congratulated the Airmen and presented each individual with a commander's coin set into a custom engraved wooden case. Teams receiving quarterly awards were presented an engraved plaque cut into the shape of Montana.

Receiving the Airman of the Quarter Award was Staff Sgt. Jedidiah Polk, a member of the 120th Security Forces Squadron. Polk was cited in part for volunteering for the Lighthouse Program that serves troubled youth.

Tech. Sgt. Deana Sullivan, a member of the 120th Mission Support Group, was presented with the Noncommissioned Officer of the Quarter Award. Sullivan successfully coordinated the in processing of 219th RED HORSE Squadron members home from their deployment.

The Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Quarter Award was presented to Master Sgt. Mike Blackhall, a member of the 120th Maintenance Group. Blackhall was recognized as a true professional for attending C-130 engine run certification training and for instructing firearms safety courses and youth trap shooting.

120th Operations Group Capt. Justin Hutchins was presented with the Company Grade Officer of the Quarter Award. Hutchins was recognized for exceeding command expectations by completing local training in less than one month and for serving as a linchpin for embracing challenging assignments for the weapons and tactics shop.

The Field Grade Officer of the Quarter Award was presented to Maj. Tirso Pena from the 120th Operations Group. Pena was cited for accomplishing 100 percent C-130 mission readiness and for serving as a civic leader.      
The 120th Maintenance Squadron Electric Shop won the Innovator of the Quarter Award. Tech. Sgts. Keith Gottlob and Ronald Van Auken accepted the award on behalf of their section. The electric shop coordinated with the aircrew flight equipment shop and loadmasters to develop a safe process to service oxygen cylinders that allow crews to perform high altitude air drops.

Finally, the Team of the Quarter Award went to the 120th Maintenance Group Fabrication Flight. Accepting the award for the fabrication team was Senior Master Sgt. Jeremy Marn. His team was recognized in part for repairing a cracked bulkhead fitting at Cheyenne, Wyo. in record time and for volunteering to repair the Overlook Park flagpole for the city of Great Falls.